Pedriatic Orthopedics at OrthoCenter in Munich

Paediatric orthopaedics, a specialist area of orthopaedics, deals with the musculoskeletal system and its functioning interaction on the growing organism. A differentiation is made between congenital and acquired diseases. Paediatric orthopaedics covers the entire period from birth to 18 years of age. The major difference to adult orthopaedics is that the growth of a child has to be consistently planned for in the strategy for treatment. That means that we plan the right therapy at the right point in time individually for each patient, and must explain the reasons for the respective procedure in detail to the parents and involve them in the process.


Professor Dr med. Utzschneider would be happy to conduct a comprehensive examination of your child to eliminate any paediatric orthopaedic diseases as quickly as possible. Make an appointment online with us at the OrthoCenter Professor Lill.


Kinderorthopädie - OrthoCenter in München

Causes

The causes of paediatric orthopaedic diseases are extremely diverse. They are often congenital or hereditary. Some diseases, for example deformities of the arms or legs, can sometimes be traced back to infectious, hypoxic, toxic, medicinal or hormonal factors, which have an effect on the embryo or the foetus in the womb.


Diagnosis

The exact anamnesis and family history is the first building block on the path to diagnosis. This is because some diagnoses can more or less be made based on this information, for example a dislocated kneecap or acute slipped capital femoral epiphysis (a fracture through the growth plate). There is also a series of paediatric orthopaedic diseases that can run in families (e.g. club foot, hip dysplasia, hereditary sensorimotor neuropathy).

The next step is an in-depth physical examination, as system diseases often affect several joints or the entire musculoskeletal (e.g. muscular dystrophy, skeletal dysplasia, arthrogryposis multiplex congenita). Because the legs or feet are affected in the majority of paediatric orthopaedic diseases, clinical gait analysis plays a prominent role. Certain diagnoses can be differentiated using the gait pattern (infantile cerebral palsy, hip disease vs. knee disease during growth).

A high percentage of the orthopaedic diseases of the growing skeleton can be reliably determined by an experienced paediatric orthopaedist during a clinical examination (congenital or acquired foot deformities, congenital or acquired torticollis). In this instance, it is important that an indicative neurological examination is performed on the patient to be able to differentiate neurological causes from orthopaedic problems (neuromuscular diseases, spina bifida), for example with a dropped arch, clubfoot or high arch.

Ultrasound plays an important role in the examination of infant’s hips (infant sonography) for diagnosing hip dysplasia and dislocation of the hip. However, ultrasound is also used to diagnose joint effusion in the case of acquired hip diseases (e.g. transient synovitis, Legg-Calve-Perthes disease, slipped capital femoral epiphysis) or acquired knee diseases (e.g. patella luxation, osteochondritis dissecans).

As well as this, the conventional X-ray is important for diagnosis (e.g. coxa valga vs. hip dysplasia), but also for mapping the progression of the disease (e.g. in the case of hip and spine diseases during growth such as coxa vara, scoliosis or Scheuermann’s disease). In some cases, special images are necessary, such as axial leg images in the case of axial deviations (genu varum or genu valgum) and differences in leg length.

Röntgenaufnahme eines Babyfußes - OrthoCenter München

While computed tomography (CT) is only seldom used in paediatric orthopaedics, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) completes the imaging diagnostics in a useful way, and is ideally suited for identifying, for example, spondylolysis on the lumbar spine, dysplasia of the knee or damaged cartilage in the knee.

Based on a detailed diagnosis, we can differentiate between harmless form changes and serious diseases of the musculoskeletal system during growth and develop an individual treatment approach for the little patients.


Pediatric Orthopedics: Treatment – conservative

As the majority of paediatric orthopaedic diseases can be treated without operation, our individual therapy concept focuses initially on conservative therapy procedures.

The basis for this in many cases is an individually coordinated physiotherapy programme, which is supplemented in certain diagnoses with a trunk orthosis (e.g. in the case of spondylolysis) or a corset (e.g. in the case of scoliosis). Depending on the disease, therapy may include a reduction in school and recreational sport right through to no sporting activities at all (e.g. in the case of Perthes disease). Consistent exercises and muscle build-up (e.g. to remedy weak posture) act in many cases as a reasonable preventative measure against serious orthopaedic diseases in childhood and adolescence.

In a number of congenital or acquired foot deformities such as acquired flat feet or bunions in the growing years, inlays are needed, which are always customised individually to the problems in the growing foot. In the case of more complex diseases such as congenital clubfoot or neuromuscular diseases, night splints and/or an orthosis are often required during the day .

A hip spica cast is a special form of orthosis for the treatment of hip dysplasia in infants as well as hip luxation; the majority of infants’ hips mature completely physiologically within a few weeks and are healed.

Kinderorthopädie Säugling - OrthoCenter München

Pediatric Orthopedics: Treatment – operative

Unfortunately, not all paediatric orthopaedic diseases can be successfully treated without an operation, with the result that an operation – generally minor – is unavoidable as early as in infancy for some congenital diseases.

In the case of severe hip diseases during growth, such as (remaining) hip dysplasia, coxa vara or Perthes disease, so-called corrective operations are often necessary in the area of the femoral bone or the pelvis. In the case of slipped capital femoral epiphysis, an urgent operation (emergency) has to be performed, as otherwise the hip joint can be severely damaged in the long term.

Some knee diseases during growth, such as cartilage damage or patella luxation require an arthroscopy of the joint with subsequent arthroscopic or minimal invasive therapy.

Foot deformities such as the painful acquired flat feet or tarsal coalition are corrected operatively, as a conservative therapy procedure is not expedient. A number of operations can be conducted as minimally invasive procedures. These include delaying growth in the case of axial deviations and differences in leg lengths. This is easy to regulate and well tolerated by our little patients. We always adapt every procedure individually to the patient, their age and their disease and plan each operation carefully at the most suitable time.

Die Kinderorthopädie, ein Spezialgebiet der Orthopädie, beschäftigt sich mit dem Bewegungsapparat und seinem funktionellen Zusammenspiel am wachsenden Organismus. Dabei wird zwischen angeborenen und erworbenen Erkrankungen unterschieden. Die Kinderorthopädie umfasst dabei den gesamten Zeitraum zwischen der Geburt und dem 18. Lebensjahr. Der große Unterschied zur Erwachsenenorthopädie liegt darin, dass das Wachstum des Kindes stets in die Behandlungsstrategie mit einzuplanen ist. Das heißt, dass wir die richtige Therapie zum richtigen Zeitpunkt für jeden Patienten individuell planen und die Eltern diesbezüglich stets ausführlich über die Gründe für das jeweilige Vorgehen aufklären und mit einbeziehen müssen.


Ursachen

Die Ursachen für kinderorthopädische Erkrankungen sind mannigfaltig. Häufig sind diese angeboren oder vererbt. Manche Erkrankungen, wie beispielsweise Fehlbildungen der Arme oder Beine, können gelegentlich auf infektiöse, hypoxische, toxische, medikamentöse oder hormonelle Faktoren, die auf den Embryo oder den Fetus im Mutterleib einwirken, zurückgeführt werden.


Diagnostik

Die genaue Anamnese und Familienanamnese ist der erste Baustein auf dem Weg zur Diagnose. Denn einige Diagnosen können damit bereits mehr oder weniger gestellt werden, wie beispielsweise. die Patellaluxation oder die akute Epiphysiolysis capitis femoris. Zudem gibt es eine Reihe kinderorthopädischer Erkrankungen, die familiär gehäuft auftreten (z.B. Klumpfuß, Hüftdysplasie, hereditäre sensomotorische Neuropathie).

Als nächstes schließt sich eine genaue körperliche Untersuchung an, da Systemerkrankungen oft mehrere Gelenke oder den gesamten Bewegungsapparat betreffen (z.B. Muskeldystrophie, Skelettdysplasie, Arthrogryposis multiplex congenita). Da beim überwiegenden Anteil der kinderorthopädischen Erkrankungen die Beine oder Füße betroffen sind, spielt hier die klinische Ganganalyse eine herausragende Rolle. Bestimmte Diagnosen können dadurch bereits anhand des Gangbildes gegeneinander abgegrenzt werden (infantile Cerebralparese, Hüfterkrankung vs. Knieerkrankung im Wachstum).

Ein hoher Anteil der orthopädischen Erkrankungen des wachsenden Skelettes lässt sich mit dem Blick des erfahrenen Kinderorthopäden bereits während der klinischen Untersuchung sicher feststellen (angeborene oder erworbene Fußdeformitäten, angeborener oder erworbener Schiefhals). Wichtig ist hierbei auch eine orientierende neurologische Untersuchung des Patienten, um neurologische Ursachen für orthopädische Probleme (neuromuskuläre Erkrankungen, Spina bifida) abgrenzen zu können, beispielsweise bei einem Spitz-, Hacken- oder Hohlfuß.

Der Ultraschall spielt eine große Rolle bei der Säuglingshüfte (Säuglingssonographie) zur Diagnostik der Hüftdysplasie und Hüftluxation. Aber auch zur Diagnostik eines Gelenkergusses bei erworbenen Hüfterkrankungen (z.B. Coxitis fugax, M. Perthes, Epiphysiolysis capitis femoris) oder erworbenen Knieerkrankungen (z.B. Patellaluxation, Ostechondrosis dissecans) kommt der Ultraschall zum Einsatz.

Des Weiteren ist das konventionelle Röntgen wichtig zur Diagnosefindung (z.B. Coxa valga antetorta vs. Hüftdysplasie), aber auch zur Verlaufsbeurteilung (z.B. bei Hüft- und Wirbelsäulenerkrankungen im Wachstum wie der Coxa vara, der Skoliose oder dem M. Scheuermann), in manchen Fällen sind hier Spezialaufnahmen, wie z.B. Beinachsaufnahmen bei Achsabweichungen (X- oder O-Bein) und Beinlängendifferenzen, notwendig.

Während die Computertomographie (CT) in der Kinderorthopädie nur selten zur Anwendung kommt, rundet die Kernspintomographie (MRT) die bildgebende Diagnostik in sinnvoller Weise ab und ist hervorragend geeignet, um beispielsweise eine Spondylolyse an der Lendenwirbelsäule, eine Patelladysplasie oder einen Knorpelschaden im Knie aufzudecken.

Basierend auf einer ausführlichen Diagnose können wir harmlose Formveränderungen von ernsthaften Erkrankungen des Bewegungsapparates während des Wachstums unterscheiden und für die kleinen Patienten ein individuelles Therapiekonzept zusammenstellen.


Therapie – konservativ

Da die überwiegende Anzahl der kinderorthopädischen Erkrankungen ohne Operation behandelt werden kann, fokussiert sich unser individuelles Behandlungskonzept zunächst auf konservative Therapieverfahren.

Grundlage hierfür ist in vielen Fällen ein individuell abgestimmtes Physiotherapieprogramm, das bei bestimmten Diagnosen durch Rumpforthesen (z.B. bei der Spondylolyse) oder Korsette (z.B. bei der Skoliose) ergänzt wird. Je nach Erkrankung gehört zur Therapie auch eine Reduktion des Schul- und Freizeitsportes bis hin zum kompletten Sportverbot (z.B. beim M. Perthes). Durch konsequente Übungen und Muskelaufbau (z.B. bei der Haltungsschwäche) lässt sich somit in vielen Fällen auch sinnvoll eine Prophylaxe ernsthafter orthopädischer Erkrankungen im Kindes- und Jugendalter durchführen.

Bei vielen angeborenen oder erworbenen Fußdeformitäten wie dem erworbenen Plattfuß oder dem Hallux valgus im Wachstumsalter, werden Einlagen notwendig, die stets individuell bezüglich des Problems des wachsenden Fußes angefertigt werden. Bei komplexeren Krankheitsbildern, wie dem kongenitalen Klumpfuß oder neuromuskulären Erkrankungen, sind oft eine nächtliche Schienen- und/oder eine Orthesenversorgung tagsüber erforderlich.

Eine besondere Form der Orthesenversorgung stellt die Spreizhosenbehandlung beim Säugling im Rahmen der Hüftdysplasie und auch Hüftluxation dar, wodurch der Großteil der Säuglingshüften innerhalb weniger Wochen völlig physiologisch nachreift und zur Ausheilung kommt.


Therapie – operativ

Leider lassen sich nicht alle kinderorthopädischen Krankheitsbilder ohne Operation erfolgreich therapieren, so dass bei manchen angeborenen Erkrankungen bereits im Säuglingsalter – meist kleine – operative Eingriffe unumgänglich sind.

Bei ernsthaften Hüfterkrankungen im Wachstum wie der (Rest-)Hüftdysplasie, der Coxa vara oder dem M. Perthes, sind häufig sogenannte Umstellungsoperationen im Bereich des Oberschenkelknochens oder des Beckens nötig. Im Falle der Epiphysiolysis capitis femoris muss eine dringliche Operation (Notfall) durchgeführt werden, da sonst das Hüftgelenk dauer- und ernsthaft geschädigt werden kann.

Manche Knieerkrankungen im Wachstum, wie Knorpelschäden oder eine Patellaluxation, machen eine Arthroskopie des Gelenkes mit nachfolgender arthroskopischer oder minimalinvasiver Therapie erforderlich.

Auch Fußdeformitäten wie der schmerzhafte erworbene Plattfuß oder die tarsale Coalitio werden operativ korrigiert, da ein konservatives Therapieverfahren nicht zielführend ist. Viele Operationen können minimalinvasiv durchgeführt werden. Hierzu gehört auch die Wachstumslenkung bei Achsabweichungen und Beinlängendifferenzen. Diese ist gut dosierbar und für die kleinen Patienten sehr gut verträglich. Jedes Vorgehen passen wir stets an den Patienten, sein Alter sowie seine Erkrankung individuell an und planen jede Operation sorgsam zum sinnvollsten Zeitpunkt.


Professor Dr. med. Utzschneider führt gerne eine umfassende Untersuchung Ihres Kindes durch, damit kinderorthopädische Erkrankungen so schnell wie möglich behoben werden können. Vereinbaren Sie gleich einen Online-Termin im OrthoCenter Professor Lill.