OPERATIVE THERAPIES

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT

Total Hip Replacement

YOU ARE HERE Startseite > Surgery > Hip Surgery > Total Hip Replacement

Total Hip Replacement

The use of a total hip replacement is only considered when all other treatment options have been exhausted. This operation uses the most modern techniques to quickly and safely replace the patient’s hip joint. In preparation for surgery, an individually laid out plan is agreed upon in order to achieve optimum results for each patient. The most important thing is to determine the material from which the artificial joint will be made, as well as the exact location of insertion.

Your advantages at OrthoCenter Munich

  • Orthopedic treatment focus on spinetherapy
  • Wide range of conservative and operative procedures
  • Gentle procedures in focus: Dr. Riedel specializes in gentle pain therapy. He was head physician in various pain clinics for over 20 years
  • Joints and surgical expert: Prof. Dr. Lill specializes in the treatment of joints. He has years of experience in the field of minimally invasiveand arthroscopic ops.
  • Cooperation with clinics and research institutes worldwide
  • Renowned private practice: the OrthoCenter is internationally known and repeatedly welcomes patients from abroad who come to Munich for treatment

Different artificial joints for different problems

As with many other operations, the insertion of an artificial hip joint can now be done using minimally invasive techniques. A mini camera and surgical instruments are inserted through two small incisions, so that the patient is not left with large wounds. The advantages of this type of surgery for the patient are numerous: scarring is rare, wounds heal faster and the entire technique is gentler for patients. After the operation, the wounds are cleaned and proper drainage devices are inserted. Shortly after surgery, your specialist will take an x-ray to ensure that the joint is seated correctly. Generally one week after surgery, patients will begin physiotherapy to ensure total mobility.

After a total hip replacement

Following the operation, it is important that normal walking mechanisms are rebuilt without the help of protective devices. Approximately one week after surgery, the patient should begin physiotherapy and walking exercises. After about twelve weeks, patients should be able to get back to work – this may be sooner for patients with sedentary jobs. Those with a hip replacement should avoid contact sports, but lightweight sports, such as jogging, cycling or swimming, can and should be undertaken.

Prof. Dr. Lill OrthoCenter München

Your specialist Prof. Dr. Lill

YOUR EXPERT FOR HIP REPLACEMENT

Are you suffering from hip arthritis or other hip problems and would like to learn more about a total hip replacement? Then contact Professor Lill today – he is happy to consult with you during your personal appointment.

BOOK ONLINE

OUR MEMBERSHIPS

Our orthopaedic specialists are members of the following societies and organisations. The aim of these societies is an optimal networking and knowledge transfer- so we always stay up to date.

Societies & Organisations

UNSERE MITGLIED-
SCHAFTEN

Unsere Fachärzte für Orthopädie sind Mitglieder in den folgenden Gesellschaften und Organisationen. Ziel dieser Gesellschaften ist eine optimale Vernetzung der Fachärzte und der Wissenstransfer – so halten wir unser Know-How stets auf dem neuesten Stand.

Künstliches Hüftgelenk

Verschiedene Hüftprothesen für individuelle Ansprüche!

Ein künstliches Hüftgelenk wird in Betracht gezogen, wenn alle anderen Möglichkeiten ausgeschöpft sind. In einem operativen Verfahren mit modernsten chirurgischen Techniken wird die sogenannte Hüft TEP in den Körper implantiert. Zur Vorbereitung auf die OP wird eine Planungsskizze angefertigt, um optimal auf den jeweiligen Patienten einzugehen. Wichtig ist dabei die Bestimmung des Materials der Prothese sowie deren genauen Lage in der Hüfte. Durch eine individuelle Beratung hilft Ihnen Professor Dr. med. Lill das passende Hüftgelenk für Ihre Ansprüche zu finden!
Künstliches Hüftgelenk | OrthoCenter Professor Lill München

Hüftgelenk OP – der Ablauf Ein künstliches Hüftgelenk wird wie bei vielen anderen Operationen, durch das minimalinvasive Verfahren eingesetzt. Durch zwei kleine Hautschnitte werden eine Mini-Kamera sowie die chirurgischen Instrumente eingeführt, sodass keine großen offenen Wunden entstehen. Die Vorteile liegen ganz klar im Wohl des Patienten: Narben bilden sich seltener, die Wunde verheilt schneller – die Technik ist insgesamt schonender. Am Ende der OP wird der Schnitt gesäubert und mit Drainagen versehen. Gleich danach wird das erste Röntgenbild angefertigt, um den Erfolg der Operation zu kontrollieren.
Nach der Hüft OP Schon bald nach der OP kann die Mobilisierung des Patienten mithilfe eines Physiotherapeuten beginnen – meist nach circa einer Woche. Nach der Operation ist es wichtig, dass normale Gehmechanismen ohne Schonhaltung wieder aufgebaut werden. Der Patient kann schon nach kurzer Zeit mit der Physiotherapie beginnen und bereits Gehübungen machen. Nach circa zwölf Wochen sind Patienten in der Regel wieder arbeitsfähig – in sitzenden Berufen auch häufig früher. Hat man ein künstliches Hüftgelenk raten Experten von der Ausübung bestimmter Sportarten ab – so zum Beispiel Wettkampfsport mit direktem Körperkontakt. Leichte Sportarten wie Joggen, Radfahren oder Schwimmen können dagegen meist problemlos ausgeführt werden.
Leiden Sie unter Hüftarthrose und möchten sich ein künstliches Hüftgelenk einsetzen lassen? Vereibaren Sie schon heute einen Online-Termin bei Professor Dr. med. Lill auf – gerne erhalten Sie einen persönlichen Beratungstermin.