Surgical treatment of severe mid-foot pain

Morton’s neuroma is known to cause severe pain in the mid-foot bones or ‘metatarsals’. Small nodules of nerves cause pain, especially when on long walks, which is often unbearable. Surgery is the only way to remove the source of this pain. Conservative methods of treatment, such as injections and the use of anaesthetic agents or special shoe inserts, can only provide temporary relief from pain. Removal of nerve nodules in cases of Morton’s neuroma is highly recommended and will make the patient’s daily life much better. Morton’s neuroma surgery is a relatively simple procedure.


How a surgery works

The goal of this surgical procedure is to relieve the patient’s pain by removing the source of that pain. The exact location of the nerve cluster needs to be determined. During surgery, the nerve bundles are removed via incisions above the toes. This procedure is done under local anaesthesia. Often, the patient can leave the clinic on the same day or remain for a day or two for observation.


After removal

The most common location of Morton’s neuroma is the space between the third and fourth toes. Typical symptoms of this type of condition are pain and a sensation of pressure, both of which usually occur after going for a long run. Before the surgery, your specialist will check for hypermobility of the mid-foot in order to rule out additional nerve damage that may have occurred. Morton’s neuroma cannot be diagnosed using an x-ray. The safest method of diagnosis is to undergo local anaesthesia in the area of pain – if the pain subsides, the probability of Morton’s neuroma is high.


Would you like to arrange surgery to remove Morton’s neuroma? from your foot? Then schedule an appointment with Professor Lill, your foot specialist in Munich, today! You will gladly be examined and informed about the possible treatment options.

Morton Neurom Operation

Mittelfußschmerzen hinter sich lassen!

Ein Morton Neurom verursacht unter Umständen massive Schmerzen am Mittelfuß. Kleine Nervenknötchen sorgen vor allem bei langem Gehen dafür, dass der Druckschmerz nahezu unerträglich wird. Eine Morton Neurom Operation nimmt die Schmerzquelle. Konservative Behandlungsmethoden wie Einspritzen von Betäubungssubstanzen oder spezielle Schuheinlagen verschaffen Patienten mit Morton Neurom oft nur zeitweise Erleichterung. Fragen Sie Ihren Spezialisten Professor Dr. med. Lill! Er wird Ihnen alles über die Morton Neurom Operation sagen und mit Ihnen herausfinden ob es die richtige Entscheidung ist.
Morton Neurom Operation | OrthoCenter Professor Lill München

Verlauf der Morton Neurom OP Ziel der Morton Neurom Operation ist es, den Patienten von quälenden Fußschmerzen zu befreien. Dazu wird zunächst die genaue Lage des Nervenknötchens bestimmt. Während der OP wird dann durch einen Schnitt oberhalb der Zehen das störende Knötchen entfernt. Meist erfolgt der Eingriff in lokaler Betäubung. Der Patient kann entweder noch am selben Tag oder ein bis zwei Tage später das Krankenhaus verlassen.
Wissenswertes zu Morton Neurom Entfernung Häufigste Lokalisation des Morton Neuroms ist der Zehenzwischenraum zwischen dritter und vierter Zehe. Typisch ist ein massiver Druckschmerz, der vor allem nach langem Laufen auftritt. Vor der Morton Neurom Operation ist abzuklären, ob zusätzlich eine Überbeweglichkeit der Mittelfußgelenke besteht – dies ist ein weiterer Hinweis auf eine Nervenschädigung. Das Morton Neurom ist nicht durch Röntgenbilder nachzuweisen. Die sicherste Diagnosemöglichkeit ist eine Betäubung der entsprechenden Zone: Verschwindet der Schmerz unter Betäubung, ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Morton Neuroms sehr hoch.
Sie möchten eine Morton Neurom Operation? Vereinbaren Sie gleich einen Online-Termin bei Professor Dr. med. Lill, Ihrem Fuß-Spezialisten in München! Sie werden gerne untersucht und individuell betreut.